Information Control

Image representing Netvibes as depicted in Cru...

Do you have information overload? Are you tired of checking a million places for your social updates? I know I am. So I have been looking for a solution to help me improve my personal productivity which will also improve my professional development. I want to be able to see the important news feeds, twitter updates, linkedin info in one area.

First of all, lets talk Dashboards. What are they? According to several sources (Dendas, NetSuite, Wikipedia, SAP) dashboards are user interfaces that allow you to view real-time information, i.e. data, like “key performance indicators” (KPI) and real-time trends. Many times these are created very specifically for businesses to manage their productivity. They can provide analytics that are helpful in making decisions and monitor trends and they do this in a very visual, graphical way. One company, Data-to-Dashboard.Com describes a dashboard as a way of visually describing data in order to achieve goals.

The Netvibe Dashboard we will be reviewing does have a similar high-level data analysis capability for their paid accounts; however, we will be looking at Dashboards as a way to control information.

Does your browser usually look like this with a billion tabs open?

Yes, when we are researching information our information flow tends to look like this; however, when we are “just” monitoring our professional networks, do we really want to have this kind of information system?  Probably not, or at least I definitely do not. I am tired of information overload.

There are browser dashboards that can help manage this flow. The one I really like is called Netvibes. I am primarily interested in Netvibes for the following reasons:

  1. to help control the way in which my many sources of information is displayed
  2. to keep me connected to my social networks

Check out my Netvibes Overview Here:

 

Also you can check out another YouTube video by MrClarkYIS. He wanted to share how he is Using Netvibes for Teacher Blogs. He describes how Netvibes can be used to manage class blogs. Check it out!

Have fun Netvibing!

4 thoughts on “Information Control

  1. This was a great post. I have netvibe but have not fully committed to using it yet. For some reason I like the separate entities. Perhaps it’s time to save myself the stress of clicking all those extra times! Thanks for such great info.

Leave a Reply

