“Quick” Learning on the Web

question from the audience

question from the audience

I attended UD’s First Friday Roundtable on Teaching on 10/5 (and had a blast, I might add!) about active learning techniques and my interest was piqued with the idea of “Bookending the Lecture.” Unfortunately, I did not have the opportunity to attend the mini-session to get the gist of what “Bookending” was all about.

For my blog post for #udsnf12 I will tell you about my online learning path to investigate this topic.

“Bookending the Lecture” where to start?

Initial Searches for 10-15 Minute Response Time

I came to absolute dead-ends at Class Central and Makerspace. However, when I looked at HowCast my return search topic was “How to Cast a Spell.” I thought this was interesting, but not quite on topic.

I finally went to google and found 23 results for “bookending the lecture.” The content returned was scholarly so I was able to build a foundation of how this engagement concept fits in with other strategies.

From here I decided to try YouTube with Zero results!

Searches for 1 Week Response Time  

calendar

a week or longer…

I then decided to go directly to the source and ask Kathy Pusecker, the director of the Center for Teaching and Assessment of Learning.

As I was waiting for Kathy’s email response, I went to the ASTD (American Society for Training and Development) web site. Again, searching specifically on “bookending the lecture” resulted in zero results. But then a little chat window popped up and asked if I wanted to chat! Well…yes, I did as a matter of fact. And, again, no resources for this very specific concept.

Now I am starting to feel like I am looking for the elusive Sasquatch.

I received an email back from Kathy and she pointed me to the Google docs they created for the event. At last, I can see the resources the Center for Teaching and Assessment of Learning used for this very specific topic. Now I have some resources to enable additional searching ideas.

I also went out on a limb and started a LinkedIn discussion with my ASTD group and asked the following question:

Have you used an active learning technique called “bookending the lecture?” If so, what activities did you incorporate?

And as of today, 10/15, five days later, I do not have any replies.

My takeaway from this exercise is that it is important to ask your community for help, even if you do not get a response. The point is to ask.

4 thoughts on ““Quick” Learning on the Web

  1. I like your takeaway from this exercise. I agree with you when you state that you just need to ask your community for help. I too did not find any help on Class central and Makerspace so I went and found other sources. I used you tube as well and asked experts.

    • Thanks! It is nice to have validation about the process. I do like the way these assignments are pushing my personal boundaries. Learning something new can make things uncomfortable for a bit.

    • Fantastic question! I feel that I was able to get a higher level look at what “boookending the lecture” means, but was not able to dig as deep as I would have liked. “Bookending the Lecture” (BTL), in my opinion, is taking a class session and breaking it into chunks that are easier to digest. And then add “bookending” activities between them. So, you might providing information (lecture) for 15 minutes and then have an activity, a quiz, a breakout session or something that gets the students to interact with the information in a much more direct, hands-on way. I will be writing another blog post about this topic, so stay tuned and THANK YOU for asking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

