Pintrest and Twitter and Blogs, Oh My! The Yellow Brick Road of the Web.

wizard of oz 70th celebration

This blog post is in response to Mathieu Plourde’s UD course, Social Networking (SN) week 3 question.

“There is no reason for any individual to have a computer in his home” (Ken Olsen, 1977) Ok, we can find this rather funny now, but 36 years ago, this sounded reasonable. Which leads me to consider how outdated my current personal feelings might be about social networking and where we will be 36 years from now. Can you imagine it? 36 years from now? (The year will be 2048 and I don’t even want to tell you that I will be an octogenarian then!)

Will we have found the yellow brick road or the poppy field? Probably a mix, if it is like everything else.

How do we manage it, so that it does not manage us? Stephen Mangat’s video describing how he is using SN was incredibly helpful. He described how he sets up accounts to automate information dissemination and then he sticks to a schedule to do particular tasks like professional development, managing monthly tweet ideas, etc.

1. So, I think the first plan would be to develop a social networking plan with a coordinating schedule and stick to it.

And then do not drive yourself crazy by checking it ALL of the time-this is a pitfall!

2. Create some type of management dashboard.

This semester for my project I will be exploring the use of the tool Netvibes. Tools like this allow people like us who want to participate in all things web with a way to manage, in one space, our links and our social media. If anyone would like to join me in this project idea, please let me know.

3. Utilize RSS feeds and email filters.

As Matt described these two options in class, I realized that these two concepts can really help clean up and organize my inbox. I started using the email filter, but still need to explore how I want to receive rss content.

4. And, finally, we need to pre-determine how we will manage our inboxes when we finally get a chance to go offline. Maybe email filters….perhaps??

In this article, 5 Tips for Managing Information Overload, the 5th tip says to “Disconnect Often.” I think this is truly helpful, but not if we are going to go crazy dreaming of an ever-populating in-box, twitter feed and the like. If you check out that article be SURE TO READ THE COMMENTS, one person talked about “more wired, more tired” and the lack of actually doing things of substance and truly finishing tasks. It sounds very similar to our class discussion from Monday.

All the best, I wish us much brain power this semester!

Oh, and just so that you know, becuase I was taking so long to write this post, WordPress logged me out and didn’t save anything. So…I had to write it again. Lesson learned, you wiley web, you!

One thought on “Pintrest and Twitter and Blogs, Oh My! The Yellow Brick Road of the Web.

  1. I too like how you open up with that quote. Now, you have me wondering about 36 years from now. I’m curious where social media can progress to in the future. Your suggestions are right on target from what Stephen Mangat’s video’s big ideas were. I also discussed how we need to manage or time wisely when using social media.

Leave a Reply

